UN Day Awards Banquet

Greater Birmingham Chapter

Thursday, October 11, 2012
Location: At the Club Atop Red Mountain in the Ballroom, Birmingham, AL

The statewide observance of United Nations Day will bring together civic leaders, international educators, and outstanding students to engage in the discussion of events taken right from today’s headlines.

Honoree and Speaker

Honorable Joseph L. Boohaker
Circuit Court Judge

"A Role for the UN in the Arab Spring"

Recongnition and Honors for Exceptional Participants in 2012 UN Youth Activities
Remebarance for Victims of Violence Worldwide

Thursday, October 11, 2012, 6-9 p.m.
At the Club Atop Red Mountain in the Ballroom

6:00 p.m. - Networking Reception and Cash Bar
7:00 p.m. - Dinner

Business attire or national dress.

The banquet is open to all who share the goals of the chapter and wish to encourage our youth today. Tickets are $55.00 and advance purchase is required. For information email UNABhamAL@gmail.com or call 822-0855.

The UNA-USA Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to Dr. Digambar Mishra of Miles College in recognition of his intellectual leadership in international education and his dedication to the ideals of the United Nations.
dedication to the ideals of the United Nations.

Outstanding students will also be recognized for their civic leadership. Dr. Meghan Tipre of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Public Health and Lindsey Crider Bloodworth of Samford University will be recognized for their outstanding contributions to intercultural understanding on their campuses and in their community with Dorothy G. Baker Campus Leadership Awards.

Caroline Kelsoe of Oak Mountain High School will receive the Ilse W. Diasio Youth Leadership Award in recognition of her leadership in the development of the Model United Nations initiative at her high school. Achievements are recognized with inscribed awards presented to the students and a donation of international relations books presented to their libraries. Each book includes a bookplate recognizing the honoree’s achievement. The awards are named for two extraordinary leaders of the Greater Birmingham Chapter, Ilse W. Diasio and Dorothy G. Baker. Sydney Hill of Gadsden High School will be recognized as the winner of the Erin McPherson Award for Outstanding Leadership of the Junior United Nations Assembly during this UN Day awards dinner, and students from The University of Alabama International Relations Club will lead those gathered at the banquet in a remembrance for victims of violence worldwide.

The UN Foundation
1750 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20006

Tel: +1 202 887-9040
Fax: +1 202 887-9021

801 Second Avenue
9th Floor
New York, NY 10017

Tel: +1 212 697-3315
Fax: +1 212 697-3316

About Us
Contact Us
Leadership Dinner
Email Sign-up